Letter to the Editor; Mayor Michael Bloomberg Soda Size Ban


Image
Dear Editor,

Below is the letter I sent to Mayor Michael Bloomberg dated 6/4/12.  It has been over a month
and I have not received even an acknowledgement my letter was received.  I understand the
Mayor is a very busy person, within the last month he has been present to kick off national
doughnut day and the hot dog eating contest at Coney Island, so I can understand how, amidst
all the gluttony, genuine and effective obesity awareness may have slipped his mind.
Even with the preceding sarcasm, I do keep my offer to the Mayor open and hopefully will hear
from him soon.  The obesity epidemic, with which he so obviously is concerned, will not go away
anytime soon.
Chiropractor, Dr. Joe Leonardi
Monday, June 04, 2012
Attention: The Honorable Mayor Michael Bloomberg
                c/o Shea Fink
Dear Mr. Mayor,
                I have read about the City’s possible ban on extremely large soft drinks. I have heard it proposed
that this may be an effective means to combat the growing obesity issue — an issue that is a very real threat
to not only your City, but the Nation as a whole.
                I believe that the intentions of the ban are well meaning, however, in my opinion as a health care
provider, educator, weight loss motivational speaker and most importantly; someone who has lost one hundred
and forty pounds and kept it off — the ban will be completely ineffective at best and counterproductive at worst.
                I would like to offer my services to you and New York City.  I will give up my practice in Pennsylvania,
relocate to New York and along with you and members of your staff, give my full attention to developing and
implementing effective measures to not only raise awareness, but to help those presently afflicted and prevent
others from falling down a path with which I am all too familiar.
Thank you for your time and attention.  It is my desire that I may have an appointment to discuss this matter
with you in person and join you on the crusade to end the life limiting obesity problem so many people face.
Sincerely,
Dr. Joseph F. Leonardi
